top of page

Research writing, sending interviews, creating my first system in FMod

In these weeks I started writing my research report. The most difficult thing is finding informations about the first audio middleware software, like the Miles Sound System, iMuse or Microsoft' DirectMusic. It makes you reflect on how internet has changed in twenty years: now everything is on the web even before becoming real, a long time ago, these guy were making the history of how audio is implemented in video games and the information are so rare. I am running through literally all the first issues of Gamedeveloper of that period, but with no luck.

By digging, however, I am proud to have found two resources that were a real jump into the past: the US patent of the iMuse system (online), and the manual of Directx9 music (in the university library), that features also in depth explanation of the system built in some games that used it (like Worms, Asheron's Call, the first Halo and No one lives Forever). This will be really helpful for the report.

I have sent different emails to industry people and companies for my interview.

I have then built my first music system in FMod, it's basically an electronic track that switches to a more drum and bassy style when enemies are around, and adds strings layer as the health of the player is low. In January, Firelight has added a video course on youtube about adaptive music in FMod, that was lucky and really useful to clear ideas out. The problem is implementing it into unreal: the resources are few and is needed a deeper understanding of the engine first. Luckily Reece from the team is helping me out via internet, but still, sending triggers and parameters to FMod is being a tough work.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page