top of page

Composing the music and applying more game music concepts

These first month of the game audio module have been really useful to learn concepts I'm going to apply to the music I am composing. I am trying to create different stems for each instrument so they can combine one with each other in different ways, instead of using a linear track. For example, the bass line and the percussion will be generated on the moment, the violin phrases will enter only when the life drops under a certain amount, but will be different each time, things like these can give the impression that the music is never the same.

This process is really time consuming, not only because finding stems that works well all one with each other requires work and I'm not really practical in the genre, but also for hardware limitations. I am running different libraries from East West, like Hollywood Strings and Brass and Stormdrum (10 pound a month thanks to east west composer cloud, and big quality), and my laptop is literally hating me, with the CPU (2,4 gHz Intel I7) that can't handle the amount of work I am requiring, basically I am freezing everything inside Logic, but this slows heavily my work.

Another time consuming process is creating believable clusters and other effects of violins typical of 20th century music, without a real orchestra. It requires a lot of work programming midi automations.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page